Social Research, Policy, and Practice Section Awards

Article Index

Elaine M. Brody SRPP Thought Leader Award

The Elaine M. Brody Thought Leader Award is conferred by the Social Research, Policy, and Practice (SRPP) Section to a member of the section in acknowledgement of outstanding career contributions in social research, policy, and practice. 

The awardee receives a $500 cash prize and plaque that will be presented to the SRPP member at the SRPP Business Meeting and Awards Luncheon in Austin, TX in 2019. The awardee also will present a short “TED talk”-type presentation (7 minutes/7 slides) at the SRPP Business Meeting and Awards Luncheon.

The award, was established in 2009 and honors Elaine M. Brody a former SRPP section chair and a former GSA president. Her pioneering research in social gerontology focused on family caregiving and enhancing the well-being of older people.

Submission Deadline
March 31, 2019


  • Nominee must be a member of the Social Research, Policy & Practice section for at least five years.
  • Nominee must have published in research, policy, and/or practice publications within the past five years.
  • Application contents must inlcude: 
    • A single nomination letter signed by at least three (3) supporters that addresses the nominee’s contribution, influence, and impact on research, policy and/or practice in the field of gerontology.
    • Nominee’s Curriculum Vitae or Resume.
    • A digital copy of at least one, and not more than five, relevant policy/practice/research publication(s).

Nomination Process
Nomination submission closed on March 31, 2019.

Past Awardees
View here

Share This Page!

Print Page